Demolition of my life will continue in 3, 2, 1…

Happy new year, everyone. I’d like to say that my absence has been due to a relaxing vacation… I really would. Honestly, the new year has shown me the love and affection of a tractor combine. Rather than complain, however, I’ve decided to hit the gas. I have sold two more short stories, I have two more due in the next 30 days, and I just got a not-a-rejection-letter saying a story I had sent in 2 years ago needs a complete rewrite to be accepted. Oh, due in 14 days.

I’ve been hit with car troubles, surprise visits, the rescue of a homeless cat, and working feverishly to get the new edition of The Chimerium Gambit from the new publisher.

Welcome to the life of a professional writer.

On the other hand I am excited to be a part of a Writer’s Seminar in Lagrange Ky. For those of you with memories ripped enough able to style on Venice Beach may remember that this is the home of Karen’s Book Barn. It is true, and I have been invited back to a seminar and wine tasting.

MORE INFO

The public is invited to meet and greet the authors who will speak on Saturday at a cocktail reception with hors d’oeuvres and wine. Join us in the sumptuous lobby of the LaGrange Library (along with a cozy fireplace) as the authors sign their books for sale and talk one-on-one with attendees.

This event is open to the public. The cost is $20 for one person, $35 per couple.*

Delizie Italiane will provide wine and hors d’oerves for this event, and Martha Franke will provide musical entertainment with acoustic guitar and Native American flute.

WHO: LaGrange Writers’ Seminar
WHAT: Wine Reception
WHEN: Friday evening, FEd 22 and Sat 23.
WHERE: LaGrange Public Library

This event is casual.

* You also can pay to attend the entire event, both Friday night’s wine reception and the Saturday Seminar. Total cost for both events is $35.00 per person (includes lunch on Saturday).

Official Website

When not in the middle of some kind of personal emergency I have been searching for the pieces and parts to a Radiation Angel costume for conventions. While nothing store bought exists, I have been heartened by the large number of how-to sites available.

While doing so, I have been amazed at how many more of my ‘sci-fi’ gagets are becoming a reality. Truth be told, I am also finding things to lift into my scifi world wholesale. I’ve been doing research, laughing myself Cthilly, errr… Silly finding new things to be a fan of, (or is that finding things of which to be a fan?), additionally I’ve been freaked out by strange weather patterns, and like everyone else, just trying to keep warm.

And, like most writers, I’m trying to get tips on surviving the day job.

I hope to have more soon.

2 thoughts on “Demolition of my life will continue in 3, 2, 1…

  1. Hey Daniel,

    Sounds like you’re going to be up for about three weeks straight. I hope you manage to retain a bit of sanity through all of it =)

    Let me know if you are ever up near the Great White North, eh. I’d love to hit a convention where you’re presenting some time.

    Hang in there,

    Derek

Leave a Reply

