the one where I try to get back in the swing of things…

I attended SCPA, the School for the Creative and Performing Arts in Cincinnati, Ohio.

Several times a year I would make my way onto the massive stage that lay at the physical and spiritual center of the building. I’d stare into the ranks upon ranks of seats, and listen to how every movement echoed off of far away walls to come back to me. I was visiting a temple, trying to make a place my home, and convince myself I belonged while listening to the sound of one hand clapping.

I guess I’m doing it again. It’s been so long since I’ve been here, it feels big, dusty, and full of echoes.

I have been working for much too long on a manuscript called Salient Dreams. It’s nearly done, maybe even tomorrow, but for tonight I’m still in this spot, looking for my artistic and spiritual center so I can create the lyrics to a song only readers can hear.

 

 

Leave a Reply

